Campus Life / Campus News

ALFRED STATE LOOKING FOR NEW RAS

Are you interested in becoming more involved on-campus? Want leadership opportunities that will transform the course of your Alfred experience? If so, you should consider becoming a Resident Assistant for Fall 2012!

When asked why he became an RA, Mike Starr of MacKenzie North said, “The reason I became an RA was to help people better themselves. Knowing that someone is entrusting you with their troubles because they know you are willing to listen and help is what makes the job worth it. I really enjoy being an RA and would do it all over again if I had the chance.”

Town House RA Michael Levandowski commented, “I became a RA to push myself to develop the personal and interpersonal skills that will be invaluable to me in my life, and future career.”

“I am an RA because I enjoy interacting with students and programming with them. Being an RA has opened so many doors for me, and I have learned so much from the experience. I do not regret becoming an RA, and I will continue to better the community on my floor and program for the students not only in my building, but for the campus as well,” said Alex Pacific of MacKenzie East.

“I am an RA because I like noticing a difference in people. If I can change one person’s life in a positive way then I feel accomplished,” said Thomas VanSlambrouck of Braddon Hall.

Holly Silverthorn of MacKenzie North added, “I became an RA because I wanted to be a leader and help other residents during my time here at Alfred State. I wanted to better my leadership skills and form bonds and a strong community on campus and in the Residence Halls.”

“I became an RA to become involved in the building and the campus.  Becoming an RA lets you become an integral part of your building by hosting programs and building community.  You get to meet new people and create new relationships with your residents, your co-workers, your boss and other people across campus during your RA career.  There is no better tool I have found for professional networking on campus,” said Josh Stellrecht of MacKenzie East

“I am a Resident Assistant because it gives me the opportunity to grow as a person and help the community.  Being an RA gives me the chance to help residents but also to get residents to take part in their building.  The best thing about being an RA is watching other students become part of the Residential Life Staff after being their RA for a semester or two.  Becoming an RA gets you out of your room and breaks you out of your shell,” said Adam Richardson of Braddon Hall.

If you are interested in becoming a part of our Resident Assistant team for Fall 2012, please attend one of the following information sessions that will be held on-campus:

 

Tuesday, February 28th – 7:00pm

(Townhouse Commons)

Tuesday, March 6th – 7:00pm (Burdick Main Lounge)

Wednesday, March 21st – 7:00pm

(Peet Main Lounge)

Tuesday, March 27th – 7:00pm

(MacKenzie Conference Room)

Information about being a Resident Assistant can also be found at:

http://tinyurl.com/afredstateRA

 

Leave a Reply

