Opinion

FIVE COLLEGE COMMITEE

Lila Campiz

Typically students do not get involved much around campus. I know when I first came here I wasn’t involved in many clubs or organizations. There were ones that interested me but I was more focusing on school, which isn’t always a bad thing. However now that I am a senior and graduating in May I am unbelievably happy that I have become involved in so much. On Thursday September 20, Dr. Brian Quinn (Tor Echo’s Consultant) and I went across the street to Alfred University for a Five College Committee meeting. Before a couple of weeks ago I had never heard of this before. After our advisor sent Dr. Quinn and I information about it, we decided that it would be a great opportunity to take the time to go.

The Five College Committee is consists of the editors and advisors of Alfred University, Houghton College, St. Bonaventure, Jamestown Community College and of course Alfred State. To sum it up it was a very information meet and greet over lunch. Alfred University’s Editor of the Fiat Lux, Amanda Lynch had a short presentation about their schools newspaper going completely online due to their budget. Aside from that ideas were bounced around and discussed different things that the college’s newspapers were currently doing.

Tor Echo has been online for several months now, however we do of course still do printed issues. I learned a few new things with AU’s newspaper being completely online in which I want to incorporate into Tor Echo’s. With that I hope everyone looks forward to some potential upcoming changes I have in store for this school year.

Leave a Reply

