Announcements / Campus Life

Residence Assistants Wanted!

Are you interested in becoming more involved on-campus? Wanting leadership opportunities that will transform the course of your Alfred experience? If so, you should consider becoming a Resident Assistant for Spring 2013! The Resident Assistant position is one of the highest student leader positions a student can hold while in college. Being an RA equips you will skills, experiences, and connections that will improve your college experience, as well as prepare you for your future career. Many Resident Assistants hold their jobs for more than one semester because of the connections they form and the leadership experience they gain.

The following are testimonials from current RAs as to why they hold their position:

“I am an RA because I enjoy interacting with students and programming with them. Being an RA has opened so many doors for me, and I have learned so much from the experience. I do not regret becoming an RA, and I will continue to better the community on my floor and program for the students not only in my building, but for the campus as well.” -Alex Pacific (RA, MacKenzie East)

“I became an RA to become involved in the building and the campus.  Becoming an RA lets you become an integral part of your building by hosting programs and building community.  You get to meet new people and create new relationships with your residents, your co-workers, your boss and other people across campus during your RA career.  There is no better tool I have found for professional networking on campus.” -Josh Stellrecht (HRA, MacKenzie East)

“I became an RA because I wanted to be a leader and help other residents during my time here at Alfred State. I wanted to better my leadership skills and form bonds and a strong community on campus and in the Residence Halls.” -Holly Silverthorn (HRA, Burdick Hall)

“The reason I became an RA was to help people better themselves. Knowing that someone is entrusting you with their troubles because they know you are willing to listen and help is what makes the job worth it. I really enjoyed being an RA and would do it all over again if I had the chance.” -Mike Starr (Former HRA, now employed by the National Department of Defense)

“I became a RA to push myself to develop the personal and interpersonal skills that will be invaluable to me in my life, and future career.” -Michael Levandowski (HRA, Getman)

“I am a Resident Assistant because it gives me the opportunity to grow as a person and help the community.  Being an RA gives me the chance to help residents but also to get residents to take part in their building. Becoming an RA gets you out of your room and breaks you out of your shell.” -Adam Richardson (RA, Braddon Hall)

We want YOU to be a part of the Residential Life team! If you are interested in becoming a Resident Assistant team for Spring 2013, please speak with a current Resident Assistant, Residence Director, or anyone in the Office of Residential Life.

The Resident Assistant application can be found at:  https://my.alfredstate.edu/webform/ra-application-form

Leave a Reply

